Gig-Swap.com

Documenting my career change into tech… one class, one seminar, one book at a time.

Reading Maddness!

Alright, so recently I finished reading all 645,000 words of Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged – which I enjoyed more than I thought I ever would. Now that that colossus of personal reading is out of the way I plan on tackling a large load of career goal-oriented readings, before talking to anyone in particular about what I SHOULD be reading I started:

Information Architecture for the WWW by, Peter Morville & Louis Rosenfield.
Only about 45% of the way through, but so far pretty general. A lot of information I would consider common sense on arranging data & navigation for larger size web pages. I will continue to stumble through this slowly, but it’s not a page turner. I have since been recommended a lot of good reads from industry professionals so I think those will take the place of Morville and Rosenfield soon.

Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML
I decided I should start reading through this again. I’ve had this for a couple years & it’s a good basic review.

Mr. Bermon Painter recommended a ton of great books & suggestions for me. I decided to start with:

Project Guide to UX Design: For user experience designers in the field or in the making by Russ Unger & Carolyn Chandler
Just bought this one, still waiting for it to arrive, I’m pretty excited.

Recently Finished:
Content Rules: How to Create Killer Blogs, Podcasts, Videos, Ebooks, Webinars (and More) That Engage Customers and Ignite Your Business. by, Ann Handley & CC Chapman. (Audio Book)
I have a bunch of free audio book credits, so I figured why not. It’s only 7 hours long and I blow through audio books this will take a few days. Since I am blogging now the content even if it’s not all that specific – it can’t hurt to know. Plus the choices of good technology based books in audible format are pretty limited. So, I gotta make the best out of what I can find.

Need to Purchase:

Textbook – Human Computer Interaction, 3rd Ed. by Dix, Finlay, Abowd, Beale & The Design of Everyday Things by Don Norman.
I will be starting these soon since I am planning on taking a Human Computer Interaction class this Spring at UNCC. These are the required textbooks so I figure can’t hurt to get them now & start plowing through them.

From here on out, I will continue to update when I finish & begin new books. Plus, I’ll keep a list of everything I have tackled on my Career Change Resume.

Leave a Reply

